top of page
Search
  • Ira

There was a tree

Following up on our visit to Dyker Lights, I was eager to check off more holiday-themed "bucket list" items. Jeremy and the kids joined me for my first viewing of The Nutcracker ballet - and we saw, the "big one" at the New York City Ballet.


Our nieces have performed in The Nutcracker for several years now in Philadelphia, but we haven't been able to attend due to work holiday events (see my post about December poker tournaments).


And, a couple years ago, all four of us saw "The Hip-Hop Nutcracker".


But, the kids and I had never seen the real Nutcracker ballet, even though it's only 10 blocks away from our home! Nothing like an upcoming 50th birthday to prompt us to rectify that situation.



The production was quite amazing, and it is beautiful to behold - especially the tree that grows from 12 feet to 40 feet (the look on our son's face as it grew made the Hamilton-priced tickets worth it!).


That said, I think I agree with my kids who asked 5-10 minutes into it, "So there's no words?!" What can I say? I'm a Broadway Baby!



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page