top of page
Search
  • Ira

Every card you're dealt opens new frontiers

I work in philanthropy, but the foundation is co-located with the hedge fund that our philanthropist runs. He and many of his colleagues at the hedge fund are very into poker - like, they play at the World Series of Poker. So, poker tends to be high profile at work social events. For five years in a row, I had successfully avoided the December poker tournament, having never played poker for money in my life. Jeremy played last year and was supposed to play again this year. Last minute, he decided he wanted to give away his spot (for which we had already paid $150). So, in a year dedicated to trying new things, what else was I to do?


I was fortunate to be seated at a table of friendly players who were very encouraging and patient with me.


The game was Texas Hold 'em. While I knew the order of poker hands from playing Michigan Rummy with my mother's family when I was young, I had no idea about anything else. The main advice I received was to fold often. That worked and kept me in the game for a while. I remember the thrill of winning my first hand, when the other person folded before the end so I don't even know if I really had the winning hand. Then, a few hands later, I kept raising the bets and went to the very end to win with three kings - you could hear my squeals of delight everywhere. I outlasted three other people at my table and even ended a hand with a tie (didn't think that was possible!). But, I ultimately lost after almost two hours (the players who came in first and second overall later that night were both at my table). For the price of a ticket to a Broadway show, I experienced many of the same ups and downs, laughs, disappointments, and feelings of community, but also got to play a supporting role - another great night on the road to 50!

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page