top of page
Search
  • Ira

Streets instead of aisles, Where I can walk for miles

A few months ago, I was pretty impressed with myself for getting from the couch to a 5K. With not a lot to do out here in the country, and missing my miles of walking around NYC, I decided to push myself further.



I eventually doubled my distance to a 10K.


The idea that I had run a quarter of a marathon was crazy to me.





It was around that time that I felt like a true runner – not so much from the distance, but from the injuries. I got IT Band Syndrome, and each of my knees has been a problem at different times. I haven’t let that keep me down. I now do more walking, but mix in some running in the middle as much as I can before my knees tell me to slow down.


The day after I turned 50, I used some

of my presents (new running shoes,

shorts, and socks, as well as a pair of

AirPods) and finished 10 miles in 2 hours

(and ran for most of it).


50 feels pretty good so far! Next step:

half-marathon?


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page