top of page
Search
  • Ira

Running away, let's do it

As some folks know from Facebook, I tried to take up running in the fall of 2018, with the goal of running the New Year's Eve Central Park Run with my 8-year-old son. We trained for a couple months, but by early December, it was clear that he wouldn't be able to really run 4 miles (he could run 1 mile in 10 minutes, though!), never mind doing it in the freezing cold temperatures on December 31.


Still, it got me off the couch on my way to a 5K. I ultimately plateaued around 2 to 2.5 miles. I fell off the wagon for a bit, but once I started working out at the start of 2020, I got back to running a couple times per week. For most of 2020, I stayed at my 2-2.5 mile route, starting in NYC and then continuing in the Berkshires since mid-March. Finally, one day, about an hour or two after it was snowing, the sun was shining bright so I headed out for a run, and pushed myself to "go the distance."

I was very pleased to finish my first 5K, even if it was by myself.



Then, a couple weeks later,

I actually made it to 4 miles,

the distance of the New Year's Eve run.

Hoping to have more running milestones

to post before my 50th birthday!

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page