top of page
Search
  • Ira

Wolf down the sandwich, la, la, la

During my staycation (no cruise to Alaska as originally planned!), I wanted to tackle some challenging recipes that I’ve saved and never had time to test out. Life is better when you start with dessert, so that’s what I did.

Homemade ice cream sandwiches! And not just any ice cream sandwich, but the original with the soft chocolate rectangle cookies (with the holes!). But, then, not just the boring plain vanilla – each sandwich has two flavors in even layers. Since one kid loves chocolate and the other doesn’t, I also had to split the batch – one half vanilla/strawberry and one half vanilla/chocolate-peanut-butter.

I spent three days on the project. The cookie dough needs to chill for at least a few hours, so that was Day 1. That same day, I also scooped and scraped and spread the ice creams into layers of a big block in the freezer. On Day 2, I baked the cookies and cut up the ice cream to go inside the cookies.

The sandwiches then need a day so that the cookies can absorb some moisture from the ice cream and get soft like you remember from your childhood. On Day 3, we got to try them.

My son said, “This is the best ice cream sandwich ever!” I may have to admit that I agree.

Lots of work but so worth it!


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page