top of page
Search
  • Ira

The hills are deep and the way is steep

In the final installment of my own "Winter Olympics", I finally tried skiing. My friend Ayesha (and her husband Jason who ended up having to miss the event) wanted to do something for my 50x50; they graciously invited us to join them at Windham Mountain for my first time skiing, at the end of the kids' February break.

I had no idea how ill-prepared I was for this. I had to buy a ski jacket, ski gloves, the neck warmer, etc. Thankfully, Ayesha loaned me some snow pants and other items. I also needed a ski lesson. The kids had done one ski lesson three years ago, so they needed a refresher. Jeremy was all set to go.

After a private lesson and multiple coaching sessions with Ayesha, I felt like I actually understood what I was supposed to do and was able to handle the bunny slope.

We then went to the next beginner slope which was a real hill. That did not go as well. I did ok on some parts but couldn't control my speed enough to overcome my fear, so I ultimately walked myself down the last part of the mountain. But, before that, I had really skied and there is video to prove it (including Ayesha's commands to keep me from falling or flying out of control)!


Not sure if I will do it again, but since the kids liked it (and were much better at it than I was), I have a hunch I might actually get back on the slopes next winter. Thanks again to Ayesha and her two daughters who were terrific hostesses and great ski coaches!

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page