top of page
Search
  • Ira

If the end is right, it justifies the beans!

So, this 50x50 may not mean anything to non-Jews and may not even mean much to most Jews. I grew up in a family that took Passover very seriously. We did not eat anything that wasn't specifically labeled as Kosher for Passover. Milk, OJ, cream cheese, you name it - even though it didn't have bread in it, if it wasn't labeled as Kosher for Passover to prove that a random crumb hadn't entered the product, we stayed away.


Five and a half years ago, when we moved to NYC, Jeremy said that it was time to let go of this rule (especially since I wasn't kosher at all year-round) because we were moving from a house in DC to a two-bedroom apartment in NYC with no attic for storage of special Passover plates, etc. In keeping with the "Happy Spouse, Happy House" mantra, I agreed.


But, I still held on to one ancient, yet not entirely logical (and in some ways, perhaps sexist?) tradition. During Passover, I had never eaten kitniyot - which means legumes but has come to encompass rice, corn, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, soybeans, peas, and lentils, in addition to legumes. I was one of those people who bought the special "Mexican Coke" during Passover that didn't have corn syrup, and I bought the Terra Chips made with sunflower oil instead of regular potato chips made with peanut oil.


This year, at a time when we all had to change many of our rules, traditions, and ways of life, I gave in on kitniyot. When we "moved" to the Berkshires for our shelter-in-place plans about three weeks before Passover, we started a tradition of "International Sundays" where Jeremy cooked a meal from a country and I found videos to teach us all fun facts about the country, its cuisine, and its animals (had to make it extra-interesting for our kids).

So, during Passover, we decided that "International Sunday" would be Israel. Jeremy made an entire menu of recipes from Michael Solomonov, the chef from Zahav in Philadelphia. And, we couldn't make his food without making his famous hummus. Jeremy also made a Mina (a savory meat pie with a matzah crust and ground beef, that we topped with charoset) and a traditional Israeli salad. I have to say, the hummus was so delicious, I was happy to have that be my first Passover kitniyot! Something tells me that this will be a 50x50 that becomes a permanent change for my second half-century.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page