top of page
Search
  • Ira

I mean the bread

I've had a bar mitzvah. I spent six weeks in Israel as a teen. I was President of my youth group in NJ and VP of my synagogue in DC. But, I had never baked my own challah before. (Jeremy has made it several times, and the kids made it at summer camp, so I was the only true challah virgin in the family.)


Thanks to the education program at our synagogue in NYC, I was able to make my first challah. This was back at the beginning of March - before social distancing and before Passover. The kids and I each made a challah at the temple, using dough that was already made.


We also made our own dough that we brought home so we could bake even more challot that evening.



We ate it plain. We made French Toast.

We froze a couple. I brought a huge loaf to work.


After Passover, I'm excited to make it again.


Everyone holla for challah!

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page