top of page
Search
  • Ira

And perhaps a sticky bun? How about several dozen doughnuts!

Part 2 of our "weekend in the country" with Elsie and Andrew was them helping us make homemade doughnuts. While Jeremy chose to go with apple cider cake doughnuts, I wanted to make traditional glazed doughnuts.


As with the dumplings (see previous post), it starts with the dough. And in this case, it started the night before, so we could give the dough time to rise. The next morning, I used a bar glass and shot glass to make a bunch of doughnuts and doughnut holes.




Then, comes the frying. Elsie and Andrew were gracious enough to bring a whole deep frying setup that we could put outside. But, I am already making plans to duplicate this effort on the stovetop. Less than a minute per side, and they were cooked and ready for the next step.





I love glazed doughnuts, and was excited to make my own glaze (just powdered sugar and milk).


But, leave it to Elsie to take it to the next level. We decided to add juice and zest from a lemon and a tangerine for a second batch of glaze.


The kids preferred the plain glaze, but Elsie and I still preferred our citrus-glazed doughnuts.


The weekend was not the best for getting my waist and weight to where I want it to be for my 50th birthday. But, I am super-grateful to Elsie, Andrew, Jeremy, and all the kids for being part of TWO new experiences for my 50x50, both of which I would gladly repeat!




31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page