top of page
Search
  • Ira

All trees, all towers

I entered my 50th year having visited 43 of the 50 states. So, with a plan of doing 50 new things in 50 weeks, it seemed obvious that 7 of those 50 things should be to visit the remaining states. And, my kids like "winning" things, so seeing as many states as possible appealed to them as well. Unfortunately, Jeremy had to be in CA for work. But, we convinced my friend Peter to join me - which made total sense since he and I visited 20 states over the course of 3 trips in the 1990s.


Our adventure started in Oklahoma

(state #44 for me!).


The kids began the day a bit skeptical

about loving Tulsa more than NYC,

but they ultimately named it their

favorite stop of the whole trip!


Although we only had about six hours

of non-sleeping time there, we packed

in a lot, starting with some really

delicious food.


Our morning meal and decadent doughnuts were followed by a visit to Gathering Place, a public park that opened in 2018 and covers 100 acres along the riverfront. I describe it as a cross between the Beauvoir playground in DC and the High Line in NYC, but on crack! The kids and I spent several hours there and could have easily spent multiple days.

(No photos of Peter since he missed his connecting flight and had to meet us at the next stop. Of course, there's no photos of him in general since he doesn't like being photographed!)

44 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page